LibGuides: MENA 354/448: Middle East and North Africa Seminar (Dr. Courtney Dorroll) *: Articles, Images, and Video

Scholarly Articles

* Scholarly articles are generally longer, at least 10 pages and as long as 30 pages.

* Scholarly articles have numerous footnotes.

* Scholarly articles appear in scholarly publications, often sponsored or published by professional organization or universities

Selected Databases for MENA Research

All Databases by Subject

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journal articles and essays in the field of religion. Covers all world religions.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. It includes a lot of full-text articles. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all fine arts, plus archaeology, architecture, crafts, interior design, and motion pictures. Includes images.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The essential index for advanced literary research. Thousands of journals in all areas of literary study and all time periods.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984.

Resources for Images and Video

ArtStor This link opens in a new window
Fine art, historical, and anthropological images from museums around the world. You must create a free account to save and download images.
Kanopy: Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers one of the largest collections of films in the world with 50,000+ films from thousands of leading producers. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and educational films from all subject areas.
"All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged." // July 2022

You can also search OneSearch for your topic and limit your search to "film" (for DVDs and VHS) or "streaming video."

Newspaper Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
International and local coverage, typically beginning in the 1980s and continuing to today's paper. This database is especially useful for comparing how news is portrayed in different countries.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers, including The New York Times, from the 1800s to present. The coverage is full page scans, so you have access to advertising, classified, and opinion pieces as well as news content.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.