Home - ECON 340 - Economics of Medical Care (Dr. Andrews)

Getting Started

Current Issues in Health Economics by Daniel Slottje (Editor); Rusty Tchernis (Editor); Badi H. Baltagi (Series edited by); Efraim Sadka (Series edited by)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2010
"This book brings together leading researchers in the healthcare economics field presenting new research on some of these key issues such as the impact of obesity on health, children's' healthcare policies, education and health; and many more."
The Elgar Companion to Health Economics by Andrew M. Jones (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781845420031
Publication Date: 2006-02-24
The aim of The Elgar Companion to Health Economicsis to take an audience of advanced undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers to the frontier of research in health economics, by providing them with short and easily readable introductions to key topics. The volume brings together 50 chapters written by more than 90 leading international contributors. The contributions to the Companionare concise and focus on specific concepts, methods and key evidence. The Companionis a comprehensive and authoritative original reference volume covering theoretical and empirical issues in health economics with a balanced range of material on equity and efficiency in health care systems, health technology assessment and issues of concern for low and middle income countries. It is organised into two broad sections. The first deals with the economics of population health and of health care systems, analysed with both equity and efficiency goals in mind. The second covers the conceptual and practical issues that arise in the evaluation of health care technologies: most often applied to pharmaceuticals but also relevant for other interventions. Many of the contributions address topical and policy-relevant issues including: the economic causes of the growth of obesity in the West, the link between illicit drug use and crime, the consequences of leaving people uninsured against the costs of health care, the impact of globalisation on the international trade in health care services, the role of informal payments in many health care systems, what 'equal treatment for equal needs' means in practice, whether direct-to-consumer advertising of pharmaceuticals is desirable, and how economic evidence is influencing the way that new technologies are made available to patients. Other chapters stress the research done by health economists to develop theoretical models and empirical methods that illuminate the workings of health care systems.
Encyclopedia of Health Economics by A. J. Culyer (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123756794
Publication Date: 2014-02-21
The Encyclopedia of Health Economics offers students, researchers and policymakers objective and detailed empirical analysis and clear reviews of current theories and polices. It helps practitioners such as health care managers and planners by providing accessible overviews into the broad field of health economics, including the economics of designing health service finance and delivery and the economics of public and population health. This encyclopedia provides an organized overview of this diverse field, providing one trusted source for up-to-date research and analysis of this highly charged and fast-moving subject area. Features research-driven articles that are objective, better-crafted, and more detailed than is currently available in journals and handbooks Combines insights and scholarship across the breadth of health economics, where theory and empirical work increasingly come from non-economists Provides overviews of key policies, theories and programs in easy-to-understand language

Economics Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics include management, accounting, advertising and marketing, construction, entertainment and media, information technology, mergers and acquisitions, occupational health and safety, public relations, small business, and a great deal of corporate information. Indexing coverage begins July 1982 and is identical to Business periodicals index; abstracts are included beginning June 1990; full text of articles from some periodicals is included beginning January 1995.

The Economist
Reports on and offers analysis of international news, world politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Includes 16 news categories, offering summaries on politics and business; short articles on world leaders, science, technology, finance and economics; surveys of countries and regions; obituaries; and reviews of literature and the arts. The back of each issue includes handy economic, financial, and market indicators.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers most journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.

Medical Databases

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a digital archive of peer-reviewed journals on medicine and the life sciences.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

Websites for Health Care and Economics

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): "The AHRQ's mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care: "For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians."
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP): "HCUP is the Nation’s most comprehensive source of hospital data, including information on in-patient care, ambulatory care, and emergency department visits. HCUP enables researchers, insurers, policymakers and others to study health care delivery and patient outcomes over time, and at the national, regional, State, and community levels."
CDC Report on Health in the United States, 2015: "Presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics."
The Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics at UPenn: "Created to fill fundamental gaps in the evidence base that could inform policies critical to the financing and management of the nation's increasingly costly and complex health care system."
CDC National Health Care Surveys: "The National Health Care Surveys are designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals, and researchers. These can include the factors that influence the use of health care resources, the quality of health care, including safety, and disparities in health care services provided to population subgroups in the United States."

ECON 340 - Economics of Medical Care (Dr. Andrews)

Reference Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Getting Started

Economics Databases

Medical Databases

Websites for Health Care and Economics