LibGuides: African and African American Studies: Find Articles in Specific Databases

Best Bets for African and African American Studies Research

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press' Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and more.
"All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged." // July 2022
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.

Select Resources for African and African American Studies

African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.

Omaha Star newspaper (1938 - current)
"Since its founding by Mildred Brown in 1938, the paper has sought to celebrate and bolster the accomplishments of African Americans through its award-winning reporting, community engagement and civil rights activism."
Afro-Americana Imprints (books): 1535-1922
12,000 books from the collection of the Library Company of Philadelphia

Additional Databases

These databases cover a wide range of topics and are always great resources to search.

Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly journal articles covering topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.

Article Search Tips

* When searching for articles, remember to connect your search terms using "and" or "or." For example, if you are looking for articles on climate change in Africa search for climate change AND Africa.

* Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.

* Look for an advanced search option. It is often a bit more complicated, but more useful.

* Use the pdf version rather than the html if both are available.

* If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.