Includes resources like The Oxford Guide to the United States Government and The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World among others. Oxford Reference Online is a great source for quick answers and context.
Includes articles from many respected reference sources like the Encyclopedia of World Biography and Who's Who in America. Also links to biographical articles in magazines and newspapers. Formerly known as Biography Resource Center.
Covers events, themes, people and trends in U.S. history. Includes primary sources, academic journal articles, historical maps and atlases, time lines, and links to special collections.
Print Reference Sources
The list below is a sampling of titles related to Southern Politics. Reference works are a great starting point for research because they provide an overview of your topic and many times also provide a list of recommended resources.
compares states on a wide variety of topics, usually with tables and statistics. The section on Elections, for example, includes tables on how each state handles nominations for state office, how they register voters, and voter turnout in recent elections.
The South Carolina encyclopedia
by edited by Walter Edgar.
Call Number: [Ref] F269 .S764 2006
'For this first general encyclopedic treatment of South Carolina, almost 600 authors contributed 1,927 entries, ranging in length from 250 to 2,000 words. Topics in 19 subject areas cover the gamut of economic, educational, social, political, religious, and cultural experience."
The new encyclopedia of Southern culture
Call Number: [Ref] F209 .N47 2006
v. 1. Religion -- v. 2. Geography -- v. 3. History -- v. 4. Myth, manners, and memory -- v. 5. Language -- v. 6. Ethnicity -- v. 7. Foodways -- v. 8. Environment -- v.9. Literature -- v. 10. Law & politics -- v. 11. Agriculture & industry -- v. 12. Music -- v. 13. Gender -- v. 14. Folklife -- v. 15. Urbanization
The Scribner encyclopedia of American lives
Call Number: [Ref] CT213 .S37 1998
"The editors commendably include persons from a wide variety of backgrounds who made significant contributions in politics, business, scholarship, education, sports, popular culture, and the arts and entertainment." Each volume provides authoritative, signed biographies for persons who died during the five years covered.