Last Updated: Dec 10, 2013
- The Oxford companion to music [electronic book]
includes articles that range from definitions of musical ideas and terms to surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of extensive musical subjects. It places music in its social and cultural context, with a range of new entries on topics such as politics, religion, psychology, and computers. The book covers current research in and approaches to music, including analysis, theory, ethnomusicology, and performance practice.
- The concise Oxford dictionary of music [electronic book]
Based on the Oxford Dictionary of Music, this searchable database contains entries on musical terms, works, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras. Also includes descriptions of musical instruments and their histories.
- Classical music reference library
More than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
- American Song
American Song is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present. As of June, 2009, all the music from the former African American Music collection is now here in American Song.
- Classical Music Library
Classical music from the Middle Ages to the 21st century, including choral works, symphonies, operas and the avant garde.
- Contemporary World Music
Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, as well as as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Naxos Music Library
A large collection of classical, jazz, world, and traditional Chinese music in streaming audio format.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Traditional music from hundreds of cultures worldwide, including folk, blues, bluegrass, old time country, and American Indian music.
These are on the main floor of the library.
The Harvard dictionary of music
Call Number: [Ref] ML100 .A64
Includes entries for all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments; and articles that reflect popular music, jazz, and rock.
The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
Call Number: [Ref] ML100 .N48 200