LibGuides: Spanish: Getting Started

Reference Sources

Reference sources provide foundational information on topics like important people, historical events, cultural theories, or religious doctrines. Use these sources to give yourself background information, develop the topic of a paper, make a list of important names or events related to your topic, understand the timeline of historical events, or discover the definition of unfamiliar terms.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: [Ref] F1406 .E53 2008 v.1-6 and ebook

Publication Date: 2008

When using the print encyclopedia, use the index in volume 6 to find articles about your topic.
Hispanic Literature Criticism by Gale
Call Number: [Ref] PQ7081.A1 H573 v.1-2

Reference articles about Hispanic authors. The bibliographies at the end of each article are good places to look for sources.

Enciclopedia Universal en Español
"Enciclopedia Universal en Español includes over 47,000 encyclopedia articles plus 9,100 images, maps, and tables. Complete with a dictionary, atlas, and timelines, it's the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish." -- vendor description

Salem Literature
Salem Literature and History includes short reference articles about important authors, literary works, and historical events.
Oxford Reference Online

Contains the texts of more than 250 reference titles published by Oxford University Press from all subject areas.
Credo Reference Online
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, science, and technology.