INTL 260: Comparing States & Societies (Dr. Ramon Galinanes)

Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, political science, literature, music, religion, science, and technology.

"Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates that any student obtaining a degree in this field needs to master for effectiveness in the 21st century. Provides undergraduate students with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail, or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter"--Publisher's description.

"Provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science"--Publisher's description.

"Contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, and schools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics"--Publisher's description.

"Covers all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy and theory. Written by a distinguished group of international scholars, the encyclopedia is largely comprised of substantial entries of more than 1000 words, with 50 major entries of 5000 words on core contemporary topics. Entries are fully cross-referenced and followed by a listing of complementary entries and a short bibliography for further reading"--Publisher's description.

Covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. While ensuring accuracy and objectivity, the entries represent interpretations that are both challenging and interesting.

"The original Handbook of International Relations was the first authoritative and comprehensive survey of the field of international relations. In this new edition, the editors have once again drawn together a team of the world's leading scholars of international relations to provide a state-of-the-art review and indispensable guide to the field, ensuring its position as the pre-eminent volume of its kind. An essential benchmark publication for all advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and academics in politics and international relations"--Publisher's description.

"Provides detailed information on countries from every geographic region and continent on the globe, evaluating their relationships with the United States and measuring the potential security threats posed by each. The contributors consider factors such as geography and history; the political systems of each state; their human rights records; the ability to maintain law and order and provide security within their own borders; the impact of current administrations, rulers, or regimes on a nation's foreign policy; and the regional factors that often dictate local politics, in order to make their assessments"--Publisher's description.

"Focuses on the major theories, concepts, and conclusions that define the field comparative politics, analyzing the similarities and differences between political units. Additionally, the Companion outlines those comparativists who have influenced the field in significant ways, and politicians whose administrations have shaped the evaluation of contrasting governments"--Publisher's description.

Theories and applications of IR are comprehensively covered, as are controversies related to the field, prominent figures, and ways IR has shaped political history.

"Indispensable for students of diplomacy and junior members of diplomatic services, this dictionary not only covers diplomacy's jargon but also includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations, e-Diplomacy, and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene or have written about it over the last half millennium"--Publisher's description.