Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Biblical Commentaries
Biblical Commentaries are sources that examine sections of the Bible in detail. Commentaries appear as parts of sets, as separately published books, and as articles in scholarly journals. They vary in the amount of detail they include, and may disagree with each other in how they interpret a specific piece of scripture. Biblical Commentaries have been written for hundreds of years, and the approach taken will depend on the materials available to the scholar at the time of writing.
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture
"The Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism, this online collection contains over 1100 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture."
Oxford Reference Online
Almost 200 encyclopedias,dictionaries and research tools with over a million entries covering all topics.
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, science, and technology.
Print Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Available in Wofford Library's print collection.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: [Ref] BL31 .E46 2005 vols. 1-15 and ebook
The best general encyclopedia on religion (and religions--Hinduism, Judaism, Zoroastrianism, Buddhism, Shinto, Confucianism, Jainism, Taoism, Christianity, Islam, Sikhism). Noted for its scholarship and comprehensiveness. Highly recommended as a place to begin working on a research project.
The New Interpreter's dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: [Ref] BS440 .N443 2006
Designed to be the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place, or person in the Bible. This dictionary emphasizes the crucial theological topics in the Bible. It simplifies searches for expert information on any biblical subject. 5 volume set.
Eerdmans dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: [Ref] BS440 .E44 2000
A major reference for reading and studying the Bible, containing some 5,000 articles. Explains all the books, persons, places, events, and significant terms found in the scriptures, and explores the cultural, geographical, and literary background of each biblical book.
Anchor Bible dictionary
Call Number: [Ref] BS440 .A54 1992
Six volume set, one of the most thorough dictionaries for terms related to the Bible.
Encyclopedia of Christianity
Call Number: [Ref] BR95 .E8913 1999 vols. 1-5
A survey of Christian theology, practice, tradition, and spirituality from the inception of Christianity until the present.
, English Literature
, Film and Digital Media
, Gender Studies
, Intercultural Studies
, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
, Middle East and North African Studies
, Modern Languages