ENVS 201: Intro to Environmental Studies (Professor Hyodong Sohn)

Gale in Context: Environmental Studies is an authoritative online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. It allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, video, primary source documents and more in highly accessible research areas covering relevant categories such as energy systems, healthcare, food and others. -- From the publisher

Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. A mix of scholarly, non-scholarly, and government sources.

Covers around one quarter of the worlds full-text scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science, including full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, books, e-books, and reference works.

An index to publications and resources on agriculture, forestry, earth science, nutrition, and related areas.

Indexes articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology. Contains some full-text articles.

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

Theory and research in international affairs including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Includes free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals in most subjects and languages.

The largest index of education-related information. Includes journal articles and government publications on primary, secondary, higher, adult, and alternative education.

Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.

Food Studies Online brings together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.

HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals. HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials and legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and much more.

A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.

Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals.

The essential index for advanced literary research. Thousands of journals in all areas of literary study and all time periods.

A platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs, with access to more than 30 million pages of curated policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. It includes a lot of full-text articles. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains articles from journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

PsycINFO, the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the 1800s to present.

SORA, an open access ornithological publications archive, is the product of collaborations between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico Libraries. SORA provides access to ornithological literature of international scope, and material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.

Customer and Authorized Users may not: use the Subscribed Products in combination with an artificial intelligence tool to the extent doing so would: create a competing or commercial product or service for use by third parties; unreasonably disrupt the functionality of the Subscribed Products; or reproduce or redistribute the original Subscribed Products to third parties. Further, artificial intelligence tools may not be used without commercially reasonable information security standards to undertake, mount, load, or integrate the Subscribed Products on Customer’s or Authorized Users’ servers or equipment.  

In addition, Customer and Authorized Users are explicitly prohibited from using the Subscribed Products in combination with any third-party generative AI tool except pursuant to an enterprise or API license under which the use of Subscribed Products does not train the AI tool or improve the third party’s services. Further, any such use of the third-party generative AI tool under these circumstances is limited to use in a controlled computing environment (e.g. ring fenced) operating under the University’s control; no data or Subscribed Products are shared with third parties; and all Subscribed Products are removed from the secure computing environment at the termination of this Agreement.   

Access to information in the sciences; especially strong in the life sciences (biology and medicine), chemistry, materials science, and psychology.

This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

With ProQuest Historical Newspapers, trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, learn about a break-through medical discovery, the inauguration of a world leader, both world wars, the Civil Rights Movement, experiment with a tasty new recipe, laugh at a comic strip and experience the birth of freedomall from one source.