LibGuides: INTL 203: Foundations & World Politics (with Dr. Rachel Vanderhill): 3. Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

For Scholarly Journal Articles

Political Science Complete
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. It includes a lot of full-text articles. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Economist Historical Archive
The Economist has reported on the world's political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them, appealing to the world's elite for its economic and political analysis. The Economist Historical Archive offers an invaluable perspective on the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
This full-text database is the definitive open-source intelligence resource for security and threat analysis. Ideal for security analysts and researchers, it covers regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security and risk management topics.
JSTOR

A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
Military & Government Collection
A collection of periodicals and academic journals offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) (1918-2015)
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives of events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics. Coverage: 1918 - 2015
Project MUSE
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.

Article Search Tips

Here are a few tips that will help you ensure your searching is as effective as possible.

You will have greater success if you put phrases in quotation marks. For example, searching for the phrase "Hebrew Bible" will be more effective than not placing the phrase in quotes, which will find the instance of both of the words, but not necessarily together.
Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.
Look for an advanced search option. It will often provide you with additional options to refine your search for most relevant results.
If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.
If we do not have online access to a journal, we will get the article you need via Interlibrary Loan.