LibGuides: EDUC 200 : Philosophy of Education Assignment (Dr. Hammett) : Definitions and Key Theorists

Reference Sources

Reference sources are a great starting point for research because they can provide background information, quick facts, and help find other sources. Use reference sources to gain a general overview of a topic or background information on a variety of educational theories and theorists. Examples of reference sources are dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, and handbooks.

The following reference sources are provided by the Sandor Teszler Library.

Education Today: Concepts, Issues, Policies and Politics by Salem Press
Call Number: EBOOK - Unlimited Users

ISBN: 1682177122

Publication Date: 2018-06-30

This new 3-volume set includes a wide range of important issues and debate topics surrounding education in America today. From Gender Issues and Diversity Education to Funding and Parental Involvement, these information-packed entries provide students and researchers with a wide variety of ways to examine the education system in America.
Encyclopedia of educational philosophy and theory
Call Number: Ebook - Unlimited Access

ISBN: 9812875883

Publication Date: 2018

This encyclopaedia is a dynamic reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars representing the full ambit of education as a rapidly expanding global field of knowledge and expertise.
Philosophy of Education
Call Number: Ebook - Unlimited Access

ISBN: 1136511687

Publication Date: 1996

This first-of-its kind encyclopedia charts the influence of philosophic ideas that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking from ancient Greece to the present. It covers such classical thinkers as Plato, Augustine, Hypatia, Locke, and Rousseau, as well as such recent figures as Montessori, Heidegger, DuBois, and Dewey.

Behaviorism

B. F. Skinner
Rudowski, V. A. (2008). B. F. Skinner. In R. F. Gorman (Ed.), Great Lives from History: The Twentieth Century. Salem Press.
Behaviorism
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Behaviorism
Page 127 134 in Education today : issues, policies & practices
Chapter 7: Behaviorism
in Social Foundations of K-12 Education

Constructivism

Constructivism
from Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
Constructivism
Page 146 - 152 in Education today : issues, policies & practices
Cognitive development: Jean Piaget
DeWolfe, T. E. (2015). Cognitive development: Jean Piaget. In P. Moglia (Ed.), Psychology & Behavioral Health. Salem Press.
Chapter 2: Constructivism at Educational Theory: Contingency in Learning, and Optimally Guided Instruction
Page 39 - 61 in Educational theory

Vygotsky's developmental theory : an introduction
Call Number: Streaming Video

Publication Date: 1994

27 minutes

Vygotsky, Lev Semyonovich
Veer, R. V. D. (2008). Vygotsky, Lev Semyonovich. In Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Vol. 25, pp. 192-197). Charles Scribner's Sons.

Essentialism

Chapter 8: Essentialism
in Social Foundations of K-12 Education
William C. Bagley and the Founding of Essentialism: An Untold Story in American Educational History
Null, J. W. (2007). William C. Bagley and the Founding of Essentialism: An Untold Story in American Educational History. Teachers College Record (1970), 109(4), 1013–1055. https://doi.org/10.1177/016146810710900408
Essentialism and Perennialism

Existentialism

Existentialism
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Existentialism
Page 157 - 162 in Education today : issues, policies & practices
Existentialism

Humanism

Humanism
Page 314 - 320 in Education Today: Concepts, Issues, Policies and Politics
Humanism
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Humanistic Education
from Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
Montessori Education
Thayer-Bacon, B., J. (2014). Montessori education. In D. C. Phillips (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy (1st ed.). Sage Publications.
The Montessori Method
Streaming Video - 17 minutes
Chapter 19 Education
in Frederick Douglass in Context

Idealism

Idealism
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Philosophical Idealism and Educational Theory
from Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
Plato and Education

Positivism

Positivism
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia

Pragmatism

Dewey Applies Pragmatism to Education
Weinel, I. (2007). Dewey Applies Pragmatism to Education. In R. F. Gorman (Ed.), Great Events from History: The Twentieth Century, 1901-1940. Salem Press. online.salempress.com.
Horace Mann
Ellis, R. P. (2007). Horace Mann. In J. Powell (Ed.), Great Lives from History: The Nineteenth Century. Salem Press. online.salempress.com.
Pragmatism
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Pragmatism
Page 163 - 167 in Education today : issues, policies & practices

Progressivism

Chapter 3: Mindfulness and Progressive Education
Page 41 - 53 in The Handbook of Dewey's Educational Theory and Practice
Chapter 6: Progressivism
in Social Foundations of K-12 Education
Progress, Idea of, and Progressive Education
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Progressive Education

Realism

Realism
from Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Aristotle and Realism