Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
, English Literature
, Film and Digital Media
, Gender Studies
, Intercultural Studies
, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
, Middle East and North African Studies
, Modern Languages
* Scholarly articles are generally longer, at least 10 pages and as long as 30 pages.
* Scholarly articles have numerous footnotes.
* Scholarly articles appear in scholarly publications, often sponsored or published by professional organization or universities
Best Bets for History Research
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Index Islamicus lists articles in all European languages that relate to the Islamic world. It covers their history, beliefs, customs, language and literature. Some entries go back to 1906.
Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984.
America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present.
British Library Newspapers
Searchable full text of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule.