LibGuides: ARTH 304: Baroque Art (with Dr. Karen Goodchild): Databases for Articles

Best Databases for Journal Articles

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers over 600 international journals and periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Coverage includes fine, decorative, and commercial arts. About one third of the titles are peer-reviewed and about one quarter are full-text.

Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material. Coverage dates: 1895-2005.

Art Magazine Collection Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of Art in America (1913-2015), ARTnews (1902-2006), and The Magazine Antiques (1922-2016). Every issue is presented in its entirety as originally published. All articles and cover pages are fully indexed, and advertisements are individually identified, so that researchers can quickly and easily find the information they need. Coverage includes such topics as ancient art; architecture; art preservation; contemporary art; contemporary American art; decorative arts; fine arts; interior design; international art; and visual arts.
College Art Association (CAA) Reviews This link opens in a new window
Publishes reviews of studies and projects in all areas and periods of art history, visual studies, and the fine arts, providing peer review for the disciplines served by College Art Association (CAA). Publications and projects reviewed include books, articles, exhibitions, conferences, digital scholarship, and other works as appropriate. caa.reviewsfosters access to the intellectual and creative materials and issues of art-historical, critical, curatorial, and studio practice, and promotes discourse in the disciplines of art and art history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journal articles and books in the sciences and in archaeology.

Additional Databases for Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database loaded with scholarly full-text content, which is udpated daily.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Enables you to search and access the full text of journals in the field of religion. Covers all world religions. Can help you appreciate religions and cultures associated with art.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to electronic journals published by the Cambridge University Press. The collection of journals is multidisciplinary--covering the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly journal articles covering topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. The collection of journals is multidisciplinary--covering the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Newspaper Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1923-Current File) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest Historical Newspapers, trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, learn about a break-through medical discovery, the inauguration of a world leader, both world wars, the Civil Rights Movement, experiment with a tasty new recipe, laugh at a comic strip and experience the birth of freedomall from one source.

All newspaper databases at Wofford

Article Search Tips

Here are a few tips that will help you ensure your searching is as effective as possible.

You will have greater success if you put phrases in quotation marks. For example, searching for the phrase "Hebrew Bible" will be more effective than not placing the phrase in quotes, which will find the instance of both of the words, but not necessarily together.
Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.
Look for an advanced search option. It will often provide you with additional options to refine your search for most relevant results.
If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.
If we do not have online access to a journal, we will get the article you need via Interlibrary Loan.