LibGuides: Chinese: Background Information

Reference Sources

Reference sources provide foundational information on topics like important people, historical events, cultural theories, or religious doctrines. Use these sources to give yourself background information, develop the topic of a paper, make a list of important names or events related to your topic, understand the timeline of historical events, or discover the definition of unfamiliar terms.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views of the World's Newest and Oldest Global Power
Call Number: [Ref] DS735.A2 B47 2009 v.1-5

Publication Date: 2009

Set includes 800 entries in 5 volumes on topics including businesses, political figures and parties, historical events, military figures and events, poets, art, natural resources, and technology, among others.
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy by Antonio S. Cua, editor
Call Number: [Ref] B126 .E496 2003 and ebook

Publication Date: 2003

This encyclopedia has articles on important philosophical movements, like Confucianism, and significant philosophers.

Salem Literature

Salem Literature is a searchable database providing full-text access to literary analysis and overviews of the lives and works of important writers.
Oxford Reference Online

Contains the texts of more than 250 reference titles published by Oxford University Press from all subject areas.
Credo Reference Online
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, science, and technology.