Computer Science

Technology has become a major component of today's classroom environment. Teachers are using new methods like makerspaces in order to engage their students. Makerspaces refer to tools students can use to explore, discover, and create new ideas and concepts using technology. This book will focus on makerspace projects that will help students with math. Complete with detailed directions and examples, this easy-to-read guide will focus on new methods of learning and mastering mathematical concepts. At last there's a way to make math fun and hands-on using the latest tools and technology.

Makerspaces are community-based, hands-on workshops in which people of all ages and skill levels come together to learn, work together, and create. Using creativity and collaboration, makerspace science projects are both fun and fulfilling. This guide brings science to life with ten easy-to-follow makerspace activities using sewing machines, laser cutters, 3D printers, electronics, woodworking tools, and metalworking equipment. Makers will develop new people and project skills, build confidence by overcoming challenges, and possibly discover innovative ways to address modern-day issues with science.

This new compilation from editor and maker Kroski spotlights a multitude of creative projects that you can tailor for your own library. Librarians and makers from across the country present projects as fun as an upcycled fashion show, as practical as Bluetooth speakers, and as mischievous as a catapult. Included are projects for artists, sewers, videographers, coders, and engineers. The handy reference format will help you quickly identify the estimated costs, materials, and equipment; and because several projects don't even require a dedicated makerspace, every library can join in. Inside you'll find how-to guidance for projects like a foam rocket launcher; stop-motion animation with 3D print characters; found-object robots; glowing ghost marionettes; Arduino eTextiles; magnetic slime; yarn painting; fidget flannels; an LED brooch; and cardboard sculpture. With takeaways like origami tea lights or a t-shirt tote bag, your patrons will be sure to remember how much fun your library can be.

This book is designed as an introduction to the field of 3Dprinting. It includes an overview of 3D printing technology in industry,education, and the exploding area of Do-It-Yourself. It contains a detailedlook at the common 3D printers, materials, and software. Using full-colorimages throughout, the book guides you on setting up your own printer andperforming calibration tasks, including descriptions of printing methods, bestpractices, pitfalls to avoid, and how to finish a completed project. Dividedinto three parts, the book covers a brief history and evolution of 3D printers,along with their use in industry and in personal consumer use in Part 1. Part 2gets you started with the set up and use of a common 3D printer, from initialhardware and material calibration and safety, to how the software functions work,and how to acquire 3D objects to print. It then showcases three differentprojects from start to finish. Part 3 concentrates on buying your own printer,the common features of personal 3D printers, and includes sections for theadventurous on post-market modifications. Companion files are included withvideos, applications, and examples of 3D printing. Features: Companion files are included with printable 3D objects in common formats, additional lessons, checklists, figures from the text, and videos showing time-lapse, printing, and print refinement Provides an overview of the technology, applications, and design issues associated with 3D printing technology Includes review questions, discussion/essay questions and "Applying What You've Learned" in every chapter

The bestselling book on 3D printing 3D printing is one of the coolest inventions we've seen in our lifetime, and now you can join the ranks of businesspeople, entrepreneurs, and hobbyists who use it to do everything from printing foods and candles to replacement parts for older technologies--and tons of mind-blowing stuff in between! With 3D Printing For Dummies at the helm, you'll find all the fast and easy-to-follow guidance you need to grasp the methods available to create 3D printable objects using software, 3D scanners, and even photographs through open source software applications like 123D Catch. Thanks to the growing availability of 3D printers, this remarkable technology is coming to the masses, and there's no time like the present to let your imagination run wild and actually create whatever you dream up--quickly and inexpensively. When it comes to 3D printing, the sky's the limit! Covers each type of 3D printing technology available today: stereolithology, selective sintering, used deposition, and granular binding Provides information on the potential for the transformation of production and manufacturing, reuse and recycling, intellectual property design controls, and the commoditization of products Walks you through the process of creating a RepRap printer using open source designs, software, and hardware Offers strategies for improved success in 3D printing On your marks, get set, innovate!

The first book to explain mathematics using 3D printed models. Winner of the Technical Text of the Washington Publishers Wouldn't it be great to experience three-dimensional ideas in three dimensions? In this book--the first of its kind--mathematician and mathematical artist Henry Segerman takes readers on a fascinating tour of two-, three-, and four-dimensional mathematics, exploring Euclidean and non-Euclidean geometries, symmetry, knots, tilings, and soap films. Visualizing Mathematics with 3D Printing includes more than 100 color photographs of 3D printed models. Readers can take the book's insights to a new level by visiting its sister website, 3dprintmath.com, which features virtual three-dimensional versions of the models for readers to explore. These models can also be ordered online or downloaded to print on a 3D printer. Combining the strengths of book and website, this volume pulls higher geometry and topology out of the realm of the abstract and puts it into the hands of anyone fascinated by mathematical relationships of shape. With the book in one hand and a 3D printed model in the other, readers can find deeper meaning while holding a hyperbolic honeycomb, touching the twists of a torus knot, or caressing the curves of a Klein quartic.