This dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as biographies of key scientists, and feature articles on important topics, such as bioinformatics, genetically modified organisms, microarray technology, and RNA interference.
Contains over 6,250 entries on all aspects of ecology and related disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography, plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.
"The Encyclopedia of Ecology contains contributions from international experts on a diverse array of topics related to ecology. It provides current and comprehensive information on many themes, including behavioral ecology, ecological processes, ecological modeling, ecological engineering, ecological indicators, ecological informatics, ecosystems, ecotoxicology, evolutionary ecology, general ecology, global ecology, human ecology, and systems ecology." -- Publisher's description
Print Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of human-animal relationships : a global exploration of our connections with animals by edited by Marc Bekoff
Call Number: [Ref] QL85 .E53 2007
This encyclopedia explores the profound and sometimes unrealized connections among humans and other animals.
The essays survey a wide range of topics that include anatomy, behavior, classification, ecology, evolution, fields of study, geography and habitats, physiology, reproduction and development, and scientific methods.
Presents plants that have an economic value and are offered for sale at markets and in shops. They include plants that are used as food, spices, stimulants, medicines, poisons, offerings, dyes, tannins, building materials, and ground coverings. The atlas contains 3,953 plant species on more than 10,000 high-quality photographs. The Introduction and the Glossary are in English, German, and Dutch.