Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of neuroscience
"The Encyclopedia of the Neuroscience explores all areas of the discipline in its focused entries on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and peer reviewed by the advisory board before acceptance into the encyclopedia." -- Publisher's description
Oxford Companion to the Mind
Over 900 articles with definitions of terms and usage information.
The senses : a comprehensive reference
"Comprehensive information about what is known of sensory systems on all levels organized by modality and by level of processing, is collected for each of the major modalities. The editorial committee represents all senses as well as all levels of processing and all kinds of animals (invertebrates to humans)." -- Publisher's description
Salem Health is a searchable database that provides full-text access to the encyclopedia Psychology and Mental Health.
Print Reference Sources
These are available for library use only.
A Pocket Style Manual, APA Version by
Call Number: Ref. PE 1408 .H26 2020
Publication Date: 2018-09-15
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: Wofford Reference - Ref. BF31 .A63 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
Call Number: Wofford Reference - [Ref] BF31 .E52 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-16
Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. After more than a century of extraordinary growth and development, the science of psychology at last has a reference source that defines the study of mind and behavior. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from 500 to 7,000 words in length including 400 biographies. An extensive system of cross-references and blind entries facilitate research from article to article and clarify links within the field. And an exhaustive index locates topics quickly and easily--providing many points of access across areas of interest and fields of study. The Encyclopedia of Psychology serves a remarkable variety of readers: students and their teachers in every area of psychology as well as in such related fields as sociology, social work, nursing, and allied health; researchers in the cognitive sciences and neurosciences; and clinicians, counselors, and other mental health and human service professionals. It will be the definitive information, research, and reference source for many years to come.
Psychology Research Guides