Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
China knowledge resource integrated database
Includes access to full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, newspapers, and yearbooks published in China. The site is updated daily. Some databases supply articles from as early as 1912, most information is from the late 1990s or early 2000s to date. You can search in English as well as Chinese. The resources themselves are in Chinese.
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities." -- From the site
Print Reference Sources
These are on the main floor of the library.
Encyclopedia of Chinese philosophy by
Call Number: [Ref] B126 .E496
Modern China : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism by
Call Number: [Ref] DS735.A3 M54
Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture by
Call Number: [Ref] DS779.23 .E53
Oxford Chinese dictionary : English-Chinese, Chinese-English = [Ying Han, Han Ying]
Call Number: [Ref] PL1455 .O87
Recommended Web Sites
Chinese Text Initiative
Digital archive of texts from the University of Virginia
Ming-Qing Women's Writings
A digital collection of women's writing from the Ming- Qing era (1368-1911).
The International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online
IDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes.