Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases typically provide access to scholarly articles - articles written by people with graduate degrees for an audience of scholars. Scholarly articles are secondary sources; click on the tab above to find primary sources. These databases focus specifically on religion.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Provides full-text access to journal articles and essays in the field of religion. Covers all world religions.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
The Religion and Philosophy Collection offers indexing, abstracts, and full text for nearly 300 journals on such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
General databases cover a wide variety of subject areas. It's a good idea to search a general database when your research topic is interdisciplinary - for example, religion and literature - so that you find articles from different subject areas.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Modern Language Association (MLA) Style
MLA Handbook, 8th Edition by
Call Number: [Ref] LB2369 .G53 2016 and at the Research Help Desk
Publication Date: 2016
MLA format is used in the humanities.