Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 312: Medical Anthropology (Dr. Fowler)

Best Bets for Sociology Research - Needs Update

Recommended journals: Medical Anthropology Quarterly, Anthropology and Medicine, Medical Anthropology, Culture, Medicine, and Psychiatry, Journal of Contemporary and Alternative Medicine, Integrative Medicine, and Social Science and Medicine.

To find a specific journal at Wofford, navigate to the Database + Journal Finder tab, then put the name of the journal in the "Search for journals" box.

The Wofford library homepage is pictured. In the center navigation box, the Database + Journal Finder tab is highlighted, and the journal name "Medical Anthropology Quarterly" has been typed into the second search box on the tab.

 

Your search results might show multiple sources for the same journal. Pick the database that has the broadest date coverage, or one that has early issues if you are looking at historical treatments of your topic.

 

On the journal landing page, look for a link to search within the publication. You may have to change the drop down in the search box to just the current publication, as you see in the JSTOR image. You can also browse issues by picking a year and volume.

The journal landing page for Medical Anthropology Quarterly in the database Social Sciences Full Text. The "search within this publication link" on the top left is highlighted. On the right side, the list of issues is also highlighted.

 

The landing page for Medical Anthropology Quarterly in the database JSTOR. Next to the search bar at the top of the page, the drop down menu has been changed to "In This Journal."

OneSearch

Wofford OneSearch is a single search platform that contains books, ebooks, journal articles, magazines, newspapers, audio, video, and reference materials. It is a great place to explore your topic and find scholarly resources, but it can sometimes be overwhelming due to the amount of information a normal search will pull up. Think of it like shopping on Amazon: you should tell OneSearch exactly what you're looking for using keywords and choosing the right limiters in the left column of your search results.

Library homepage with OneSearch search box in the center of the page.

 

 

For example, a search for genetic engineering retrieves nearly 1.7 million results. You can narrow your search by adding additional keywords or using the limiters in the left column.

 

 

Choosing only scholarly and peer reviewed articles and limiting our results to articles published in the last 5 years reduces the number of articles to about 160,000. 

 

 

Finally, we can add additional keywords to make our search more specific. Adding the keyword food to our search brings up scholarly articles published in the last five years about the genetic engineering of food. Play around with your keywords and limiters until you find articles or books that will work for your project.

 

 

When you find resources that you'd like to save, click on the pushpin icon next to the item. Log in using your MyWofford credentials to save the items to your OneSearch account.