Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Dictionary of Politics and Government
Source for information on many topics in politics and government worldwide.
Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
An introduction to political science terminology.
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
This work is a comprehensive collection of recent scholarship on the economic, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization.
Glossary of Political Theory
Coverage of major concepts in political theory as well as some of the major theorists.
Oxford Companion to American Politics
Detailed coverage of many aspects of American politics. Includes biographies of significant American political figures, significant pieces of legislation, political movements, and issues that government has had to consider.
Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics
Covers the field of comparative politics, with a focus on the politics of other nations and peoples.
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Covers international politics, including some biographies, summaries of major issues in international affairs, conflicts, agreements, and concepts.
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
Covers the key figures, events, and structures of U.S. government ... features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, notable members of Congress, historical commentary on past elections, major Presidential decisions, international and domestic programs, and the key advisors and agencies of the executive branch.
HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals. HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials and legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and much more.
Print Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of international relations and global politics
Call Number: [Ref] JZ1160 .E53x 2005
"Designed to cover the study of post-Cold War international relations (IR) as a "site of change, controversy, and theoretical plurality" and "theoretical innovations and ... agendas." The 125 contributors are primarily British, American, Australian, and European. Thematic coverage ranges across diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and IR theory." -- ALA
These are on the main floor of the library.
A historical guide to the U.S. government
Call Number: [Ref] JK9 .H57 1998
"This work is a comprehensive collection of brief yet highly readable and informative accounts of the different bureaus, departments, and processes that define the executive branch of the US government. The entries, which range in length from several pages to a single paragraph, were written by a variety of scholars, agency historians, and governmental employees. Generally, these accounts provide a historical overview of the subject under consideration as well as a discussion of its contemporary developments." -- ALA
Government Research Guides