Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Salem Health is a searchable database that provides full-text access to the encyclopedia Psychology and Mental Health.
Oxford Companion to the Mind
Over 900 articles with definitions of terms and usage information.
Encyclopedia of neuroscience
"The Encyclopedia of the Neuroscience explores all areas of the discipline in its focused entries on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and peer reviewed by the advisory board before acceptance into the encyclopedia." -- Publisher's description
The senses : a comprehensive reference
"Comprehensive information about what is known of sensory systems on all levels organized by modality and by level of processing, is collected for each of the major modalities. The editorial committee represents all senses as well as all levels of processing and all kinds of animals (invertebrates to humans)." -- Publisher's description
Print Reference Sources
These are on the main floor of the library.
APA dictionary of psychology
Call Number: Wofford Reference - [Ref] BF31 .A63 2007
Contains 25,000 entries and includes terms and concepts drawn from a diverse range of subject areas, including anthropology, computer programming, molecular and population biology, pharmacology, physics, and statistics. Appendices list the biographical, institutional/organizational, test and assessment, and psychological and psychotherapeutic approach entries separately.
Encyclopedia of human behavior
Call Number: Wofford Reference - [Ref] BF31 .E5 1994
Provides long articles on the psychological aspects of human behavior, including topics such as "Schizophrenia" or "Dementia".
Encyclopedia of psychology
Call Number: Wofford Reference - [Ref] BF31 .E52 2000
Long, academic, signed articles on various topics in psychology primarily from a social/clinical perspective. The index is quite helpful.
Magill's encyclopedia of social science : psychology
Call Number: Wofford Reference - [Ref] BF31 .M33 2003
Another great source for an overview of a topic in Psychology. Each entry includes an annotated bibliography for additional sources.
Encyclopedia of the human brain
Call Number: Wofford Reference - [Ref] QP376 .E586 2002
Psychology Research Guides