Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Reference sources like encyclopedias provide you with background information about your topic. Reference books are a great place to brainstorm for topics or look for potential keywords for your search.
Encyclopedia of Islam *
This online encyclopedia "sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture. It contains the entire text of volumes I to XI and supplement (volume XII) of the printed edition: articles, figures, drawings, genealogical tables, maps, and fully-searchable biographies. User may search in both Arabic transliteration and English using wildcard, Boolean, and proximity searches"--From the encyclopedia's homepage.
Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Credo Reference Online
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, science, and technology.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains the texts of more than 250 reference titles published by Oxford University Press from all subject areas.
Print Reference Books
These books are located on the main floor of the library.
, Art and Art History
, Asian Studies
, Environmental Studies
, Film and Digital Media
, Gender Studies
, Medical Humanities