Skip to main content

Cite Sources

RefWorks and Citation Managers

Citation managers allow you to save links and information about the books, articles, websites, videos, and other items you use in your research. Using a citation manager allows you to keep all of your sources in one place so that you can easily find them later. Many citation managers have extra features that allow you to create a bibliography, store items in folders, save PDFs, tag sources, and more. 

Wofford provides access to RefWorks, a citation manager that works within OneSearch, our library catalog. You can also import citations for sources you find outside of OneSearch. This page will walk you through creating an account with RefWorks, importing sources, managing folders and tags, and creating a bibliography. If you have questions, just ask a librarian!

Creating an Account with RefWorks

Wofford gives students and faculty free access to ProQuest RefWorks, a citation manager tool that works with OneSearch. To create an account, go to OneSearch, click on the folder icon in the top right corner, and use your Wofford email to create an account.

 

ProQuest RefWorks signup page

Adding Items to RefWorks in OneSearch

To add items from OneSearch to RefWorks, click on the folder icon next to the item name. The folder icon will turn red when it is successfully saved to your working folder.

Image showing red folder for saved item

 

When you are done saving items, click on the folder icon in the upper right corner of OneSearch.

Image showing location of folder in OneSearch

 

If you are not already logged in, you can log in to RefWorks by following the sign up link in your OneSearch folder.

Image showing location of sign in link

 

Once you are logged in, clicking on the OneSearch folder will automatically import your saved items into RefWorks. Make sure to import all items from your folder before you finish your OneSearch session because saved items will be removed from your OneSearch folder after a period of inactivity. 

Image showing items successfully imported into RefWorks

Tagging and Organizing Your Citations in RefWorks

To add items to a folder if RefWorks, use the checkboxes to select items for the folder. Then click on the folder icon in the icon bar and choose "Create a folder."

RefWorks library page, with the folder icon selected and the drop down menu showing the "+ Create" link used to create a new folder.

 

Choose a name for your new folder, then click "Create Folder."

New folder dialog box appears when you click "+ Create" that allows you to create a name and choose whether to make the folder a subfolder of another category.

You can access your folders in the left column of RefWorks.

RefWorks account screen with the list of folders highlighted in the left column.

You can also label items in RefWorks with tags. For example, you might want to tag items with your class number, the name of the assignment, or other information that will make it easy for you to find the article or book later. To create a tag, click on the item's checkbox, then look on the right side of the page for the "Add Tag" section.

RefWorks folder. The checkbox next to an item is checked, and in the right column the field to add tags is highlighted.

 

RefWorks will suggest tags, or you can create your own. You can use multiple tags for each item. Make sure to save your edits by clicking the save button in the top right of the panel.

In the right column of the RefWorks screen, the field for Tags is highlighted to show where you can add additional tags. Above this section, the save button is highlighted.

You can access all of your tagged items from the link in the left sidebar.

In the left column, the location for the Tags section is highlighted.

 

 

Generating a Bibliography Using RefWorks

To create a bibliography or works cited page using RefWorks, select all the items you want in the bibliography using the checkboxes, then click the quotation mark icon in the top bar. Select "Create Bibliography" from the drop down menu.

On the RefWorks account page, the quotation mark icon has been selected. In the drop down menu, "Create Bibliography" is selected.

 

Choose your citation style from the drop down menu. Be very careful that you choose the correct edition and style for your class - ask your instructor or check your assignment sheet if you are unsure which style to use.

On the RefWorks bibliography page, the MLA 7th Edition menu is selected. The drop down shows other MLA editions that can be selected.

RefWorks will generate a works cited list. Click the "Copy to Clipboard" button, then paste the citations into your document. Don't forget to check the citations! Sometimes RefWorks will add in extra spaces, have incorrect punctuation or capitalization, or will leave out important information. RefWorks can make the process of creating a bibliography easier, but it is your responsibility to make sure that the citations are correct before you submit your paper.