This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Home Page Cite Sources Find Materials Library Services A-Z Floor Plan Ask a Librarian Library Home Page

Biology  

Last Updated: Dec 6, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wofford.edu/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Best Bets for Biology Research

  • Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
    Indexes articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology. Contains some full-text articles.
  • ScienceDirect
    Covers around one quarter of the world’s full-text scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science, including full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, books, e-books, and reference works.
  • MEDLINE
    Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals.
  • BioOne
    "Indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full-text articles available from the BioOne organization; provides a unique aggregation of over 65 bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers"--Description from the BioOne organization.
  • Science.gov
    Science.gov searches over 40 databases and over 2000 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
  • General Science Full text
    General science full text features bibliographic indexes (coverage starting 1984), full text (starting 1995), plus graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations. Covers leading journals and magazines; biographical sketches; symposia; conferences; review articles; selected letters to the editor; and special issues of journals published as supplementary issues, review issues, or laboratory guides.

Additional Databases

These databases cover a wide range of topics and are always great resources to search.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
  • Academic Onefile
    Full-text, scholarly journal articles covering topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
  • JSTOR  
      

Biology Research Guides

 

Have Questions?

Email: askalibrarian@wofford.edu
Call: 864-597-4302
Visit: Hours & Directions

 

Article Search Tips

*  When searching for articles, remember to connect your search terms using "and" or "or."  For example, if you are looking for articles on climate change in Africa search for climate change AND Africa.

*  Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.

*  Look for an advanced search option.  It is often a bit more complicated, but more useful.

*  Use the pdf version rather than the html if both are available.

*  If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip