LibGuides: Biology: Find Articles

Best Bets for Biology Research

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology. Contains some full-text articles.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. The collection of journals is multidisciplinary--covering the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers around one quarter of the worlds full-text scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science, including full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, books, e-books, and reference works.

Science.gov
Gateway to government science information and research results. Searches content on authoritative science websites and on federal science agencies' databases.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly journal articles covering topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
3D Human Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures 3D anatomy model, built using real scan data from the Visible Human Project, provides access to anatomical data verified by qualified anatomists and by a team of external experts for each body area.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources is now available online through institutional subscriptions. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.

Article Search Tips

* When searching for articles, remember to connect your search terms using "and" or "or." For example, if you are looking for articles on climate change in Africa search for climate change AND California.

* Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.

* Look for an advanced search option. It is often a bit more complicated, but more useful.

* Use the pdf version rather than the html if both are available.

* If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.