ARTH 312: Contemporary Art (with Dr. Gillian Young)

"Twenty-five years after the publication of A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes, the distinguished critic and arts historian Richard Kostelanetz returns to his favorite subject for a third edition. Rewriting earlier entries, adding hundreds of new ones, Kostelanetz provides intelligence and information unavailable anywhere else, no less in print than online, about a wealth of subjects and individuals. Focused upon what is truly innovative and excellent, he ranges widely with insight and surprise, including appreciations of artistic athletes such as Muhammad Ali, Johan Cruyff, and the Harlem Globetrotters and such collective creations as Las Vegas and his native New York City"--Publisher's description.

Provides clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Its range of terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century to the beginning of the 21st.

"Profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements from around the world, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. Unlike existing works, this encyclopedia examines the complexities of rapidly changing global conditions that have dispersed modern architectural types, movements, styles, and building practices across traditional geographic and cultural boundaries"--Publisher's description.

Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of architecture available. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the present day.

Covers the vast vocabulary of painting and sculpture, architecture and photography, and the decorative, applied, and graphic arts. Definitions include illustrations and diagrams.

"Offers a systematic, reliable, accessible, and challenging reference guide to the disciplines of art history and visual culture. Includes terms integral to the historical and theoretical study of art, design, and culture in general.

Covers Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day. Offers clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. Also offers biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources).

A biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism.

Provides authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies. Covers all of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. Ranges far both geographically and historically--Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Shelved in our library's print-reference-book collection. This dictionary (which is truly an encyclopedia) is shelved in our library's print-reference collection.

Published from 1959 to 1989, this 17-volume encyclopedia covers representational arts in the broadest sense--architecture, sculpture, painting, and other man-made objects with no limits as to time, place, or cultural environment. This encyclopedia is shelved in our library's print-reference collection.