Film & Digital Media at Wofford

"This encyclopedia covers a comprehensive range of genres, movements, theories, and production terms. Includes entries on such topics as: acting, audience, CGI, convergence, cult cinema, digitization and globalization, distribution, experimental film, transnational cinema, world cinemas"--Publisher's description.

Covers all aspects of film studies, including film theory and criticism, national and international cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry practices, and key technical terms in over 500 detailed entries.

"With entries ranging from 500 to 3,000 words, this resource gives context to the debates surrounding terms rather than giving simplistic 'definitions.' A key reference for students of communication, media, film and cultural studies, art, design and literature."--From Publisher's description.

Film Studies has emerged as one of the most distinctive and exciting areas of study and research to be established in the second half of the twentieth century. Written by a team of veteran scholars and emerging talents, The SAGE Handbook of Film Studies maps the international traditions of the field, drawing out regional differences in the way that intellectual reflection on cinema and film has been transformed into a field of systematic inquiry. It reflects on the field's conceptual infrastructure, the dominant paradigms and debates, and evaluates their continuing salience. Finally, it looks optimistically to the future of film, the institution of cinema, and the discipline of film studies at a time when the very existence of film is being called into question by new technological, industrial, and aesthetic developments.

"Offers a survey of the new horizons of film and media theory, focusing on the applicability of screen theories and updating the field for new social, cultural, and geopolitical contexts"--From Publisher's description.

"Examines the current state of filmmaking and how film language, technique and aesthetics are being utilized for today's 'digital film' productions. It reflects on how critical analysis of film underpins practice and story, and how developing an autonomous 'vision' will best aid student creativity. The Film Handbook offers practical guidance on a range of traditional and independent 'guerrilla' film production methods, from developing script ideas and the logistics of planning the shoot to cinematography, sound and directing practices. Film professionals share advice of their creative and practical experiences shooting both on digital and film forms"--From Publisher's description.

Covers the spectrum of significant filmmakers from Altman to Armstrong, Kazan to Kurosawa, Truffaut to Tarantino. With entries written by distinguished critics such as Dudley Andrew, Jeanine Basinger, David Bordwell, Raymond Durgnat, Roger Manvell, Gerald Mast, and Robin Wood, it will be a standard reference tool for many years to come. Contributors consider the ways in which directors put their personal stamp on their work.

"Presents a wealth of information on early cinema history, with coverage of the techniques and equipment of film production, profiles of the pioneering directors and producers, analysis of individual films and the rapid growth of distinct film genres, and the emergence of something the world had never seen before--the movie star"--From Publisher's description.

"Fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film. Discusses individual films and filmmakers including little-known filmmakers from countries such as India, Bosnia, and China. Examines the documentary filmmaking traditions within nations and regions, or within historical periods in places such as Iran, Brazil, Portugal, and Japan. Explores themes, issues, and representations in documentary film, including human rights, modernism, homosexuality, and World War. Elaborates on production companies, organizations, festivals, and institutions such as the American Film Institute, Ceylon Tea Propaganda Board, Hot Docs (Toronto), and the World Union of Documentary. Describes styles, techniques, and technical issues such as animation, computer imaging, editing techniques, IMAX, music, and spoken commentary"--From Publisher's description.

"Broad in scope, this interdisciplinary collection of original scholarship on historical film features essays that explore the many facets of this expanding field and provide a platform for promising avenues of research. Offers a unique collection of cutting edge research that questions the intention behind and influence of historical film"--From Publisher's description.

"When viewers think of film noir, they often picture actors like Humphrey Bogart playing characters like Sam Spade in The Maltese Falcon, the film based on the book by Dashiell Hammett. Yet film noir is a genre much richer. The authors first examine the debate surrounding the parameters of the genre and the many different ways it is defined. They discuss the Noir City, its setting and backdrop, and also the cultural (WWII) and institutional (the House UnAmerican Activities Committee, and the Production Code Administration) influences on the subgenres. An analysis of the low budget and series film noirs provides information on those cult classics"--Publisher's description.

"The story of the western is told in The A to Z of Westerns in Cinema through a chronology, a bibliography, and an introductory essay. However, it is the hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on cinematographers; composers; producers; films like Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Dances With Wolves, The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly, High Noon, The Magnificent Seven, The Searchers, Tombstone, and Unforgiven; such actors as Gene Autry, Kirk Douglas, Clint Eastwood, Henry Fonda, James Stewart, and John Wayne; and directors like John Ford and Sergio Leone that will have you reaching for this book again and again"--Publisher's description.

"Traces the development of horror cinema from the beginning of the 20th century to the present day. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries. Entries cover all the major movie villains, including Frankenstein and his monster, the vampire, the werewolf, the mummy, the zombie, the ghost, and the serial killer; the film directors, producers, writers, actors, cinematographers, make-up artists, special effects technicians, and composers who have helped to shape horror history; significant production companies and the major films that have come to stand as milestones in the development of the horror genre; and the different national traditions in horror cinema as well as horror's most popular themes, formats, conventions, and cycles"--From Publisher's description.

Get professional techniques usually known only by Hollywood makeup artists in this full-color, comprehensive book from accomplished makeup pros Gretchen Davis and Mindy Hall. The two come to you with impressive backgrounds in film and television industries--their projects have included Pearl Harbor, Rent, Stuart Little, and The Nanny Diaries, and Mindy Hall is fresh off her Academy Award win for her work on 2009's Star Trek. This new edition of The Makeup Artist Handbook offers even more illustrations to demonstrate techniques visually; fundamentals on topics such as beauty, time periods, black and white film; and up-to-date information on cutting-edge techniques like air brushing makeup for computer-generated movies, makeup effects, mold-making, lighting, and lots of information on how to work effectively in HD. Learn from the pros and hone your craft with this comprehensive book.

"Is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film and is considered the undisputed Bible of the movie industry. Features more than 7,500 A-Z entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking. Includes indexes of Academy Award-winning films and artists, top-grossing films, and much more"--From Publisher's description.

"Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory, and film history"--From Publisher's description.

"This trusted and practical handbook clearly and concisely defines the essential terms of film analysis, with a special focus on the aesthetic values of filmmaking. Extensive cross-referencing among individual definitions ensures easy access to specific terms, and a comprehensive topical index relates to larger concepts of film art"--From Publisher's description.

Fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' Workers Leaving the Lumière Factory (1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911 (2004). This Encyclopedia provides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopedia examine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.