LibGuides: Truman Scholarship Program at Wofford College (Dr. Ramón Galiñanes): Databases for Journal Articles & Newspaper Articles

Best Databases for Journal Articles about Government and International Affairs

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. It includes a lot of full-text articles. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics include management, accounting, advertising and marketing, construction, entertainment and media, information technology, mergers and acquisitions, occupational health and safety, public relations, small business, and a great deal of corporate information. Indexing coverage begins July 1982 and is identical to Business periodicals index; abstracts are included beginning June 1990; full text of articles from some periodicals is included beginning January 1995.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Theory and research in international affairs including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital National Security Archive unlocks a vast trove of important declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations.
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Economist has reported on the world's political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them, appealing to the world's elite for its economic and political analysis. The Economist Historical Archive offers an invaluable perspective on the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals. HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials and legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and much more.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is the definitive open-source intelligence resource for security and threat analysis. Ideal for security analysts and researchers, it covers regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security and risk management topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of periodicals and academic journals offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to information in the sciences; especially strong in the life sciences (biology and medicine), chemistry, materials science, and psychology.

Additional Databases for Journal Articles

These databases cover a wide range of topics and are always great resources to search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly journal articles covering topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Databases for Newspaper Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1923-Current File) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest Historical Newspapers, trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, learn about a break-through medical discovery, the inauguration of a world leader, both world wars, the Civil Rights Movement, experiment with a tasty new recipe, laugh at a comic strip and experience the birth of freedomall from one source.

All newspaper databases at Wofford

Article Search Tips

Here are a few tips that will help you ensure your searching is as effective as possible.

You will have greater success if you put phrases in quotation marks. For example, searching for the phrase "Hebrew Bible" will be more effective than not placing the phrase in quotes, which will find the instance of both of the words, but not necessarily together.
Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.
Look for an advanced search option. It will often provide you with additional options to refine your search for most relevant results.
If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.
If we do not have online access to a journal, we will get the article you need via Interlibrary Loan.