Alexander Street Press' Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and more.
"All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged." // July 2022
A multidisciplinary streaming video service, licensed for classroom use, and viewable on a range of devices and platforms. Includes feature films and documentaries.
This 1977 introduction to the world's religions withstands the test of time because of its objective presentation of beliefs and practices. The series shows and interviews practitioners from all walks of life, including academia. The series comes in 13 parts (each is between 51 and 53 minutes long): Protestant Spirit, USA -- Hinduism: 330 Million Gods -- Buddhism: Footprint of the Buddha, India -- Catholicism: Rome, Leeds, and the Desert -- Islam: There Is No God but God -- Orthodox Christianity: The Romanian Solution -- Judaism: The Chosen People -- Religion In Indonesia: The Way of the Ancestors -- Buddhism: The Buddhism: The Land of the Disappearing Buddha, Japan -- African Religions: Zulu Zion -- Taoism: A Question of Balance, China -- Alternative Lifestyles in California: West Meets East -- Reflections on the Long Search.
FOR ONLINE ACCESS: Click on the "Long Search" link above. Then enter "wofford" in the "Type the name of your institution" box. A "Wofford College" link will appear. Click on it. You then will prompted to enter your myWofford credentials. Enter them and click on "Login=>"--then voila! (Members of the Wofford community have access from anywhere, on campus or off.)
Click here to use Wofford OneSearch to limit your search (it can be by title, actor, director, keyword) to streaming videos about religion. The videos are accessible to you on campus and off. They come from Kanopy, Academic Video Online, and other collections to which our library subscribes. When prompted for a username and password to access a given streaming video, simply enter your MyWofford credentials. [In this example, I have limited the search for streaming videos using the keywords "religion OR religious." You may add keywords of your own to limit the search further.]
Click here to use Wofford OneSearch to limit your search (it can be by title, actor, director, keyword) to our library's religion-related films on DVD. [In this example, I have limited the search for DVDs using the keywords "religion OR religious." You may add keywords of your own to limit the search further.]
The JSTOR database has absorbed the Artstor Digital Library! JSTOR now provides access to more than 3 million images of the worlds cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Subject matter covered includes anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and much more. The collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, offering many rare and important collections available nowhere else. You must create a free account as a member of the Wofford community to save and download images.
