THEA 201: Introduction to Theatre (with Prof. David Kenworthy)

An index of over 30,000 plays written in or translated into English that have been published individually or in anthologies from 1949 to present. These plays were originally written from antiquity to the present. Indexed plays are in a wide variety of forms, including classical drama, monologues, musicals, one-act plays, plays in verse, radio plays, television plays, and more. This database does not include the full text of plays; it provides only citations, indexing, and abstracts. Each play’s record includes a variety of useful information, including cast requirements, set requirements, music requirements, target audience age group, and subjects covered. Each record also includes a brief abstract describing the play’s plot.

Contains the full text of over 2,000 plays by over 400 North American playwrights, written since the late 1800s. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Includes detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays.

Makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in this database have never been published before and are available nowhere else. At completion, the database will contain 1,500 film scripts—an exploration of culture and cinema through the decades. This highly structured archive offers a bibliographic and biographical database of directors and writers, along with the full text of the movies themselves. From the earliest silent films through to the present, the cultural attitudes and lifestyles are reflected in the medium. Students, instructors, and researchers use the Film Scripts Online Series for studying popular culture, film, diversity and gender issues, language and linguistics, writing, American history, anthropology, sociology, psychology, and other disciplines.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.