ARTH 411: Art Historiography (with Dr. Gillian Young)

"Offers a systematic, reliable, accessible, and challenging reference guide to the disciplines of art history and visual culture. Includes terms integral to the historical and theoretical study of art, design, and culture in general.

Covers every aspect of American folk art, encompassing not only painting, but also sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more, including both famous and lesser-known genres. Containing more than 600 articles, this unique reference considers individual artists, schools, artistic, ethnic, and religious traditions, and heroes who have inspired folk art.

Covers all aspects of classical art--from Cycladic, Minoan and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. Illustrated with 400 halftones, maps and line drawings, and 32 color plates.

Offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture, ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran, and Iraq are elucidated here. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites, and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork, and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world.

Offers unparalleled coverage of all aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century. Offers scholarly material on Medieval art in intelligent, well-written, and informative articles, each of which is followed by a bibliography to support further research. These include a mixture of shorter, more factual articles and larger, multi-section articles tracing the development of the arts in major regions. There are articles on all subject areas in Medieval art including biographies of major artists, architects and patrons; countries, cities, and sites; cultures and styles (Anglo-Saxon art, Carolingian art, Coptic art, Early Christian art, Romanesque, Gothic, Insular art, Lombard art, Merovingian art, Ottonian art, and Viking art); ivories, books and illuminated manuscripts, metalwork, architecture, painting, tapestries, sculpture, mosaics, reliquaries, and more.

Provides an overview of Neoclassicism, focusing on its major artists, architects, stylistic subcategories, ideas, and historical framework of the 18th century style found mainly in Europe and the United States. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 200 dictionary entries on famous artists, sculptors, architects, patrons, and other historical figures and events.

Covers the years 1250 to 1648, the period most disciplines place as the Renaissance Era. A complete portrait of this remarkable period is depicted in this book through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on major Renaissance painters, sculptors, architects, and patrons, as well as relevant historical figures and events, the foremost artistic centers, schools and periods, major themes and subjects, noteworthy commissions, technical processes, theoretical material, literary and philosophic sources for art, and art historical terminology.

Covers all aspects of Rococo art history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a review of the literature, an extensive bibliography, and over 350 cross-referenced dictionary entries on prominent Rococo painters, sculptors, decorative artists, architects, patrons, theorists, and critics, as well as major centers of artistic production. .

A-to-Z dictionary of the religious and mythological themes and symbols that have influenced Western painting and sculpture.

"Folk art is one of the American South's most significant areas of creative achievement, and this comprehensive yet accessible reference details that achievement from the sixteenth century through the present. This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture explores the many forms of aesthetic expression that have characterized southern folk art, including the work of self-taught artists, as well as the South's complex relationship to national patterns of folk art collecting. Fifty-two thematic essays examine subjects ranging from colonial portraiture, Moravian material culture, and southern folk pottery to the South's rich quilt-making traditions, memory painting, and African American vernacular art, and 211 topical essays include profiles of major folk and self-taught artists in the region"--Publisher's description.

A biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism.

Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of architecture available. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the present day.

Covers Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day. Offers clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. Also offers biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources).

Explains a wide range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture, including subjects, topics, themes, artists, works, movements, and buildings. Coverage includes art from around the world, with new entries upon the Christian art of North America, Latin America, Australasia, and of the non-Western world, as well as Christian artistic interactions with other religions, including Judaism and Islam.

Provides clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Its range of terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century to the beginning of the 21st.

Covers the vast vocabulary of painting and sculpture, architecture and photography, and the decorative, applied, and graphic arts. Definitions include illustrations and diagrams.

Provides authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies. Covers all of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. Ranges far both geographically and historically--Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Shelved in our library's print-reference-book collection. This dictionary (which is truly an encyclopedia) is shelved in our library's print-reference collection.

Published from 1959 to 1989, this 17-volume encyclopedia covers representational arts in the broadest sense--architecture, sculpture, painting, and other man-made objects with no limits as to time, place, or cultural environment. This encyclopedia is shelved in our library's print-reference collection.