Library session goal or big idea: Special Collections is many different collections acquired in different ways. Special Colllections items must be handled with care to ensure their long term preservation.
Evidence of learning/ Important to know and do to meet this goal: Students will know that Special Collections is made up of different collections. Students will discern between different material and collections and learn that collections come to institutions in different ways. Students will know that flat paper items and bound paper items require particular handling and care.
Session plan:
- Welcome students. Big theme of class: Special Collections is many different collections acquired in different ways. Special Colllections items must be handled with care to ensure their long-term preservation.
- Think pair share questions: What makes Special Collections special? How is Special Collections different than Archives? How are Special Collections different from items the General Collection? How do you think items or collections come to be in Special Collections? Or the Art Collection? Pose each question and have pairs think and share with each other. After asking 3 questions, have each group report out....Summarize answers and correct/re-direct as appropriate.
- Lecture: Provide overview of Special Collections. Describe the collections from which the framed items are taken.
- Richard B. Harwell Leonard Baskin and Gehenna Press collection
- Larkspur Press collection
- Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr. collection (Gould)
- Lecture: Handling flat paper and bound paper objects.
- Activity: Student browse and examine prints in frames. Shuttle through "handling demonstration station" where Luke guides handling of flat paper and bound objects.
- Field questions
- Youmi may provide context, undertake activity or lesson
- Assessment question! Before students leave
