LibGuides: ENGL 210: 18th Century British Literature (Dr. Ware): Finding Artifacts, Texts, and Events

Cultural Artifacts

ArtStor This link opens in a new window
ArtSTOR has high quality images from museum and cultural collections from around the world. You might find maps, paintings, clothing, and everyday objects. You must create an account to save and download images.

British Library Images Online
High quality images from the British Library. Do not buy the images! You can use the images for your projects under fair use.
British Library Albums
High quality, free images from the British Library, organized into categories.

Off-Syllabus Texts

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Text Creation Partnership (TCP) This link opens in a new window
ECCO includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

These are large websites that reproduce literary texts. You can also search the internet for the title of the work you're interested in; put the title of the work in quotation marks to search it as an exact phrase.

Project Gutenberg - Thousands of free books. Useful site for when you are looking for a specific work or author. Not great for browsing.
Internet Archive - Over 8 millions books available for free. Again, not great for browsing but useful for specific searches.
Poetry Foundation - Browse or search for poems and/or poets.

Historical Events

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and encyclopedias from all subject areas published by Oxford University Press.
Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and encyclopedias from all subject areas, including history and literature.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides that include coverage of literary time periods, authors, and historical periods.

The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Culture by Andrew Galloway (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780511975646
Publication Date: 2011
This Companion introduces a wide range of materials that constitute the culture, or cultures, of medieval England, across fields including political and legal history, archaeology, social history, art history, religion and the history of education. Above all it looks at the literature of medieval England in Latin, French and English, plus post-medieval perspectives on the 'Middle Ages'.
Tudor England: An Encyclopedia by Arthur F. Kinney (Editor); David W. Swain (Editor); Eugene D. Hill (Editor); William A. Long (Editor)
Call Number: [Ref] DA315 .T753 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Historical Dictionary of Stuart England, 1603-1689 by Ronald H. Fritze; William B. Robison
Call Number: [Ref] DA375 .H57 1996
Publication Date: 1996
An Oxford Companion to the The Romantic Age: British Culture 1776-1832 by Iain McCalman (Editor)
Call Number: [Ref] DA485 .O94 1999 and ebook
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era 1760-1850 by Christopher John Murray (Editor)
ISBN: 9781579583613
Publication Date: 2003
In 850 analytical articles, this two-volume set explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.

You can use these sources for your timeline project or search online for useful websites. Try searching Google for your time period, event, or person along with the keywords "archives," "digital collection," or "exhibit."

The British Library
The Internet Medieval History Sourcebook - The Reformation
British History Online - primarily includes materials from 1300-1800
The Newbery Library's Digital Collections - potential collections of interest include The Tempest and Utopias, Women in Medieval Europe, and others.