Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

The Richard B. Harwell Leonard Baskin Collection

 Repository:

Special Collections, Wofford College

 Creator:

Leonard Baskin, Richard B. Harwell

 Title: 

The Richard B. Harwell Leonard Baskin Collection

 Dates: 

1945-1995

 Quantity: 

250+

 Abstract:

This collection consists of works created by or associated with the American artist Leonard Baskin. The collection includes items in several formats, such as handmade and mass market books, prints, ephemera, and sculpture. Products of Baskin's Gehenna Press are well represented.

 Language: 

eng

 Finding aid  by:

Luke Meagher

 

Biographical/historical note   

Leonard Baskin (1922-2000) was one of the twentieth century's greatest sculptors and printmakers. Railing against the trends of the time, he maintained a focus on figurative art. Strongly influenced by classical forms, his work reflected his interests in Greek mythology and Jewish tradition and culture. Baskin is also known for having founded one of the longest-running arts presses in the United States. 

("Leonard Baskin." Encyclopedia of World Biography. Vol. 22. Detroit: Gale, 2002. Biography in Context. Web. 5 Mar. 2015.)

The collector, Richard Barksdale Harwell, was born in 1915 in Washington County, Georgia. A librarian, bibliographer, and historian, Harwell authored and edited numerous books relating to the Civil War and especially to the Confederacy.

(Biographical/Historical note, A Guide to the Richard Barksdale Harwell Paper, University of Florida Smathers Libraries, March 2005.)

Scope and contents note 

The collection consists of books, broadsides, prints, proofs, ephemera, prospectuses, catalogs, mass-produced posters, periodicals, and medals produced by or in association with Leonard Baskin and/or his Gehenna Press.

Provenance 

Given to Wofford College in 1986 by Richard B. Harwell, from his personal collection.