Skip to main content

Special Collections

The Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr. Collection

A subcollection of Special Collections is the Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr. Collection. The Littlejohn Collection is a multi-format collection of cultural heritage materials collected by prominent local businessman and philanthropist B.R. Littlejohn, Jr. (1925-2010). The collection reflects the interests of the collector and contains manuscripts and ephemera concerned with the history of the South and South Carolina (including manuscripts by prominent figures of the colonial period), the Civil War and the Confederacy (including manuscripts and archival collections created by general officers and soldiers, Civil War envelopes, pamphlets arguing for or against slavery and secession, and single copies and complete runs of historical newspapers), but the breadth of the Collection reaches from the late colonial period through the end of the 20th century. The collection also contains over one thousand books that complement materials in the Collection. The Littlejohn Collection takes its name from Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr. (1925 - 2010), from whose personal collection this collection is taken. Mr. Littlejohn, a Spartanburg native known to many as Dick, was a businessman, philanthropist, and private collector of historical memorabilia.

Explore the Littlejohn Collection

Selected digitized versions of items from this collection can be browsed on Digital Commons@Wofford.

Thumbnail of The Throne Room, Imperial Palace, Germany.
American Stereoscopic Co.; Quaker Oats Company. (1906). The Throne Room, Imperial Palace, Germany.. Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/SS7730957_7730957_10566414

The Littlejohn Collection takes its name from Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr. (1925 - 2010 ), from whose personal collection this collection is taken. Mr. Littlejohn, a Spartanburg native known to many as Dick, was a businessman, philanthropist, and private collector of historical memorabilia.

The collection consists of postcards (typically 4 ½” x 6 ½”) that originate from and depict places around the world. The postcards generally date from after 1945 and are photographic and printed. The items that depict U.S. sites have been organized and inventoried by state, save for those from North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia. As the cards from these states are most numerous, and presumably of the most interest locally, they have been inventoried in greater detail (i.e. by specific place or city).

 

 

Wofford College: American Civil War Illustrated Envelopes

Thumbnail of "I wonder if the coast is clear?"

Berlin & Jones. "I wonder if the coast is clear?". [[300197601]]. Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/SS7731270_7731270_10874618

Archival collections

The Littlejohn Collection contains a number of archival collections available for research. The list below contains those collections that have been processed and are ready for use by researchers. 

 

The William Robertson Boggs Family Papers 

The Ethan Allen Hitchcock Papers

 The W.E. Johnson Papers

The Lafayette McLaws Papers

The Mrs. George K. Scott Papers

The Walter M. Smith and Marie Smith Papers

Book collection
The Littlejohn Collection's book collection contains about 800 items, which can be searched for in Wofford OneSearch.