Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Salem Literature is a searchable database providing full-text access to literary analysis and overviews of the lives and works of important writers.
Literature Criticism Online
Literary criticism on drama, poetry, and short stories.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains the texts of more than 250 reference titles published by Oxford University Press from all subject areas.
Credo Reference Online
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, science, and technology.
Reference Books for German Literature
The Cambridge History of German Literature by
Call Number: PT91 .C36 1997
Publication Date: 1997
This book describes German literary history up to the unification of Germany in 1990. Contributors, all leading scholars in their field, take a fresh look at the main authors and movements, and also ask what Germans in a given period were actually reading and writing, what they would have seen at the local theatre or found in the local lending library; it includes, for example, discussions of literature in Latin as well as in German, eighteenth-century letters and popular novels, Nazi literature and radio plays, and modern Swiss and Austrian literature. A prominence is given to writing by women.
A Concise History of German Literature to 1900 by
Call Number: PT91 .C66 1992
Publication Date: 1992
This volume contains a concise general history of German literature, ranging from the early Middle Ages to the start of the 20th century. Each epoch is treated against its historical and sociological backdrop by experts in the literature of that period.
, English Literature
, Intercultural Studies
, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
, Middle East and North African Studies
, Modern Languages