INTL 477: Senior Seminar (with Dr. Rachel Vanderhill)

Provides biographical essays of and speeches from all of the presidents of the United States. Website maintained by the Miller Center at the University of Virginia.

Includes an archive of datasets from the ANES and a "Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior." "The American National Election Study (ANES) is a survey conducted by leading scholars of political behavior of voters during each general election. Due to the availability of data, the depth of the questionnaire, and its lengthy time series (since 1952), ANES is the gold standard of political science surveys." -- Choice Reviews Online, Dec 2010

"Is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."

Primary source documents from medieval times to the present. Website maintained by Yale University.

Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to full-text documents, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords.

CSIS "is one of the world’s preeminent public policy institutions on foreign policy and national security issues. Its staff and large network of affiliated scholars conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives that look to the future and anticipate change. CSIS is regularly called upon by Congress, the executive branch, the media, and others to explain the day’s events and offer recommendations to improve U.S. strategy.

Congressional documents from the first 100 years of the U.S. Congress (1774-1875) can be accessed here. The website is maintained by the Library of Congress.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.

"Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series"--Description from the Library of Congress.

Data gathered by the statistical office of the European Union is made available here for you to search by key word and by A-to-Z list of "statistical themes."

The Government Printing Office's (GPO) Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

The Official Web site of the State of South Carolina's Government Resources page.

Official website of the U.N. Helps you navigate through the U.N.'s structure.

Enables you to search for and access UN documents and reports, speeches, votes, and its other public-domain publications.

U.S. government's official web portal

Produces the largest global dataset on democracy with over 30 million data points for 202 countries from 1789 to present. Involves over 3,700 scholars and other country experts. Measures hundreds of different attributes of democracy. Provides new ways to study the nature, causes, and consequences of democracy, or democritization efforts. Also provides information on where democracy is threatened.

"Voting America examines the evolution of presidential politics in the US... The project offers a wide spectrum of cinematic and interactive visualizations of how Americans voted in presidential elections at the county level over the past 164 years. You can also find expert analysis and commentary videos that discuss some of the most interesting and significant trends in American political history."

Open access to global development data provided by the World Bank Group. The data are searchable by key word, by country, or by economic indicator.