Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Previously Points of View Reference Center.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias give you background information about a topic. You might want to look up the history of college sports and the NCAA if you are giving a speech about whether college athletes should be paid, for example. Note that you cannot use dictionaries and encyclopedias as one of your sources in your speeches, but these sources can be useful when you want a quick overview of a topic, or when you're not sure exactly what part of a large topic you want to focus on.
Archive of more than 3,000 Editorial Research Reports published between 1923 and 1990 in order to offer the entire Researcher collection online. Like CQ Researcher today, each report in the Archive addresses the significance and legacy of the events and issues of its day. And so, Archive content adds a new historical dimension to the CQ Researcher site, extending its coverage beyond politics and current events to the fields of history, sociology, cultural studies, and other social sciences.
To ensure that users get the full benefit of the rich content contained in the Archive, the CQ Researcher site created Issue Tracker, a new browsing tool that lets users trace topics through years and across decades. Issue Tracker allows researchers to quickly gather their research on the historical development of hot topics and events that have shaped the world and explore how issues and institutions have evolved over time.
Contains the texts of more than 250 reference titles published by Oxford University Press from all subject areas.
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.
Customer and Authorized Users may not: use the Subscribed Products in combination with an artificial intelligence tool to the extent doing so would: create a competing or commercial product or service for use by third parties; unreasonably disrupt the functionality of the Subscribed Products; or reproduce or redistribute the original Subscribed Products to third parties. Further, artificial intelligence tools may not be used without commercially reasonable information security standards to undertake, mount, load, or integrate the Subscribed Products on Customer’s or Authorized Users’ servers or equipment.
In addition, Customer and Authorized Users are explicitly prohibited from using the Subscribed Products in combination with any third-party generative AI tool except pursuant to an enterprise or API license under which the use of Subscribed Products does not train the AI tool or improve the third party’s services. Further, any such use of the third-party generative AI tool under these circumstances is limited to use in a controlled computing environment (e.g. ring fenced) operating under the University’s control; no data or Subscribed Products are shared with third parties; and all Subscribed Products are removed from the secure computing environment at the termination of this Agreement.
Newspapers and magazines can be used to demonstrate how a problem is being addressed at the local level. Access World News lets you find a particular city's newspaper to see how locals are reacting to national issues. You can also use the interviews in newspapers and magazines to add a personal touch to your speech by telling your audience how individuals are being affected by the problem you're addressing. If you were doing a speech on masks in school during covid-19, you could look in the Spartanburg Herald-Journal for local schools' policies and find quotes from local teachers, students, and parents about how they feel about the issue.
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Wofford OneSearch is a single search platform that contains books, ebooks, journal articles, magazines, newspapers, audio, video, and reference materials. It is a great place to explore your topic and find scholarly resources, but it can sometimes be overwhelming due to the amount of information a normal search will pull up. Think of it like shopping on Amazon: you should tell OneSearch exactly what you're looking for using keywords and choosing the right limiters in the left column of your search results.
For example, a search for genetic engineering retrieves nearly 1.7 million results. You can narrow your search by adding additional keywords or using the limiters in the left column.
Choosing only scholarly and peer reviewed articles and limiting our results to articles published in the last 5 years reduces the number of articles to about 160,000.
Finally, we can add additional keywords to make our search more specific. Adding the keyword food to our search brings up scholarly articles published in the last five years about the genetic engineering of food. Play around with your keywords and limiters until you find articles or books that will work for your project.
When you find resources that you'd like to save, click on the pushpin icon next to the item. Log in using your MyWofford credentials to save the items to your OneSearch account.
