LibGuides: Psychology (PSY) at Wofford: Databases for Articles, Images, &amp; Videos

Best Bets for Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Articles for Psychology Research

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the 1800s to present.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains articles from journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers around one quarter of the worlds full-text scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science, including full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, books, e-books, and reference works.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to information in the sciences; especially strong in the life sciences (biology and medicine), chemistry, materials science, and psychology.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals.

Wofford OneSearch
Reminder: OneSearch, our library's discovery service, can be used to search by keyword for articles in scholarly and peer-reviewed journals in all of the databases that our library provides access to, and that searches in OneSearch can be further limited to date ranges of your choosing.

Additional Databases for Journal Articles

These databases cover a wide range of topics, including psychology!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Gale Health and Wellnes This link opens in a new window
General-interest resources including medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, medical journals and pamphlets, a directory of health service organizations, current news, drug information, and links to web resources.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The largest index of education-related information. Includes journal articles and government publications on primary, secondary, higher, adult, and alternative education.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
"Provides access to high-quality, open-access, peer-reviewed journal articles" in most disciplines, including psychology--From DOAJ's homepage.

Databases for Newspaper Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1923-Current File) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest Historical Newspapers, trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, learn about a break-through medical discovery, the inauguration of a world leader, both world wars, the Civil Rights Movement, experiment with a tasty new recipe, laugh at a comic strip and experience the birth of freedomall from one source.

All newspaper databases at Wofford

For Images and Videos

3D Human Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures 3D anatomy model, built using real scan data from the Visible Human Project, provides access to anatomical data verified by qualified anatomists and by a team of external experts for each body area.
ArtStor This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library provides access to more than 2.5 million images of the worlds cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Subject matter covered includes anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and much more. The collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, offering many rare and important collections available nowhere else. You must create a free account to save and download images.
Kanopy: Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary streaming video service, licensed for classroom use, and viewable on a range of devices and platforms. Includes feature films and documentaries.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press' Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and more.
"All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged." // July 2022