LibGuides: SOC 450: Sociology Capstone (with Drs. Handelsman, Harkey, &amp; Fowler): Databases for Journal & Newspaper Articles, Images, &amp; Videos

SOC-&-ANTH-Focused Databases for Journal Articles

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource provides access to scientific research journals across the field of anthropology published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), including more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect covers all of the sciences, but you can limit your searches in it to the social sciences.

Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1923-Current File) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from the 1800s to today. Sources are primarily American.

All newspaper databases at Wofford

Images and Video

ArtStor This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library provides access to more than 2.5 million images of the worlds cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Subject matter covered includes anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and much more. The collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, offering many rare and important collections available nowhere else. You must create a free account to save and download images.
Kanopy: Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary streaming video service, licensed for classroom use, and viewable on a range of devices and platforms. Includes feature films and documentaries.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press' Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and more.
"All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged." // July 2022

SOC 450: Sociology Capstone (with Drs. Handelsman, Harkey, & Fowler)

SOC-&-ANTH-Focused Databases for Journal Articles

Related Databases for Journal Articles

Newspapers

Images and Video