Skip to Main Content

SPAN 305: Cultures of Latin America (Dr. Barbas Rhoden)

Background Sources

Encyclopedia of Pre-Colonial Latin America (Prehistory To 1550s) by J. Michael Francis (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Colonial Latin America (1550s To 1820s) by Mark A. Burkholder (Editor)
ISBN: 1438163452
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Early Modern Latin America (1820s To 1900) by Monica A. Rankin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
The Colonial and Postcolonial Experience in Latin America and the Caribbean by Emily Sebastian
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life by Joyce E. Salisbury (Editor); Gregory S. Aldrete (Editor); Andrew E. Kersten (Editor); Lawrence Morris (Editor); Peter Seelig (Editor)
Call Number: [Ref] GT31 .G74 2004 v.1-6
Publication Date: 2004
The best coverage of Latin America comes in the volumes for the 19th and 20th centuries.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019
Only available on campus.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: [Ref] F1406 .E53 2008 v.1-6 and ebook
Publication Date: 2008
When using the print encyclopedia, use the index in volume 6 to find articles about your topic.

The Catholic Encyclopedia
Published in 1914, this encyclopedia covers a broad spectrum of Catholic ideas, history, and people. It is especially useful to scholars of the Hispanic world for its description of religious missions and colonization efforts in the Americas.

Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests by Paul K. Davis (General Editor)
ISBN: 1592371140
Publication Date: 2006