ARTH 220: Asian Art Survey (with Dr. David Efurd)

Offers concise explanations--and over 400 illustrations--of the essential symbols and motifs in Chinese art and architecture. Uses the Pinyin pronunciation of Chinese names and words. is arranged alphabetically for easy access. Explains not only essential cultural symbols (accompanied by their Chinese characters), but also contains many articles on Chinese beliefs, customs, arts and crafts, food, agriculture, and medicine. This book is a standard reference volume for students of China and Chinese culture.

In handy A-to-Z format, here are the stories of the revered deities, sacred places, key events and epics, and recurring themes and traditions that make up the rich and varied fabric ofAsian mythology. Entries address the key mythologies of India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan.

Covers Chinese and Japanese art, art objects, legends, and personal names. Shelved in Wofford's print-reference collection under the call number: [Ref] N7340 .M78 1981.

"A collection of nearly 10,000 entries and over 14,000 pictures on Buddhist arts from around the world. The 20 volumes of the collection are divided into 8 categories: Architecture (4 volumes), Caves & Rock Carvings (5 volumes), Sculpture (4 volumes), Painting (3 volumes), Artifacts & Decorative Arts (1 volume), Calligraphy (1/2 volume), Seal Engraving (1/2 volume), People (1 volume)"--From the publisher's description.

"A reference work that is both comprehensive and rigorously chronological"--From the publisher's description.

Comprehensive overview of the Buddhist world view, basic teachings, and practices of Buddhism. Covers its different schools and sects. Includes entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies.

"Succinct guide to the rich tradition of Japanese mythology, from the earliest recorded legends of Izanagi and Izanami, their divine offspring and the creation of Japan, to medieval tales of vengeful ghosts, through to the modern-day reincarnation of ancient deities as the heroes of mecha anime." Reveals how Japan's mythology is "enriched by Shinto, Buddhism and regional folklore"--From the publisher's description.

"The most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Unlike reference works that focus on a single Buddhist language or school, The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism bridges the major Buddhist traditions to provide encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism"--From the publisher's description.

"Starts with a detailed chronology of Taoism and its relationship to both China and other teachings, while the introduction expands on these ideas. The dictionary contains several hundred entries and provides a more detailed treatment of significant people, gods and demons, concepts, practices, rituals, scriptures, and schools. A comprehensive bibliography suggests further readings"--From the publisher's description.

Provides authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies. Covers all of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. Ranges far both geographically and historically--Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome.

Published from 1959 to 1989, this 17-volume encyclopedia covers representational arts in the broadest sense--architecture, sculpture, painting, and other man-made objects with no limits as to time, place, or cultural environment. This encyclopedia is shelved in Wofford's print-reference collection under the call number: [Ref] N31 .E4833 1959.