ENVS 347: Environmental Storytelling (Professor Eric Kocher)

Gale in Context: Environmental Studies is an authoritative online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. It allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, video, primary source documents and more in highly accessible research areas covering relevant categories such as energy systems, healthcare, food and others. -- From the publisher

Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. A mix of scholarly, non-scholarly, and government sources.

Covers around one quarter of the worlds full-text scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science, including full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, books, e-books, and reference works.

Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.

An index to publications and resources on agriculture, forestry, earth science, nutrition, and related areas.

Indexes articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology. Contains some full-text articles.

Theory and research in international affairs including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Includes free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals in most subjects and languages.

The largest index of education-related information. Includes journal articles and government publications on primary, secondary, higher, adult, and alternative education.

Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.

Full-text, scholarly journal articles covering topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals. HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials and legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and much more.

A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.

The essential index for advanced literary research. Thousands of journals in all areas of literary study and all time periods.

A platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs, with access to more than 30 million pages of curated policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. It includes a lot of full-text articles. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains articles from journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

PsycINFO, the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the 1800s to present.

Provides statistical reports on diverse topics from a wide range of sources--not only from market research and trade publications, but also from scholarly journals, international organizations, and governmental departments. The reports are downloadable as PDFs, Excel spreadsheets, and PowerPoint presentations.

Access to information in the sciences; especially strong in the life sciences (biology and medicine), chemistry, materials science, and psychology.

This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

With ProQuest Historical Newspapers, trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, learn about a break-through medical discovery, the inauguration of a world leader, both world wars, the Civil Rights Movement, experiment with a tasty new recipe, laugh at a comic strip and experience the birth of freedomall from one source.