LibGuides: Religion (REL): Databases for Journal & Newspaper Articles

For Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journal articles and essays in the field of religion. Covers all world religions.
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
BAS Library: Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the Biblical Archaeology Society's 3 flagship publications--Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey. Lets you search them all at once or individually for articles by using a topic, author, title, or keyword. BAS Library also has put together a number of “Special Collections” of relevant articles on popular topics to browse in one place.
Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly journal articles covering topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984.

Jewish Studies Source
Offers a multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Content includes leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and biographical information.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion and Philosophy Collection offers indexing, abstracts, and full text for nearly 300 journals on such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Religious Magazine Archive (1845-2015) This link opens in a new window
An archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period. Coverage: 1845 - 2015
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, physical, and social sciences, including archaeology.

Wofford OneSearch
Reminder: Wofford OneSearch (our library's discovery service) can take the keywords that you enter as search terms to find specifically scholarly, peer-reviewed-journal articles, and that it searches simultaneously all of the databases that our library offers.

For Newspaper Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection "includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content"--Description from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).
New York Times (1923-Current File) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest Historical Newspapers, trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, learn about a break-through medical discovery, the inauguration of a world leader, both world wars, the Civil Rights Movement, experiment with a tasty new recipe, laugh at a comic strip and experience the birth of freedomall from one source.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

All newspaper databases at Wofford

Article Search Tips

Here are a few tips that will help you ensure your searching is as effective as possible.

You will have greater success if you put phrases in quotation marks. For example, searching for the phrase "Hebrew Bible" will be more effective than not placing the phrase in quotes, which will find the instance of both of the words, but not necessarily together.
Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.
Look for an advanced search option. It will often provide you with additional options to refine your search for most relevant results.
If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.
If we do not have online access to a journal, we will get the article you need via Interlibrary Loan.