18 September 2024
ACRL frame(s) to focus on:
Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
Information resources reflect their creators’ expertise and credibility, and are evaluated based on the information need and the context in which the information will be used. Authority is constructed in that various communities may recognize different types of authority. It is contextual in that the information need may help to determine the level of authority required.
Research as Inquiry
Research is iterative and depends upon asking increasingly complex or new questions whose answers in turn develop additional questions or lines of inquiry in any field.
Scholarship as Conversation
Communities of scholars, researchers, or professionals engage in sustained discourse with new insights and discoveries occurring over time as a result of varied perspectives and interpretations.
Searching as Strategic Exploration
Searching for information is often nonlinear and iterative, requiring the evaluation of a range of information sources and the mental flexibility to pursue alternate avenues as new understanding develops.
US History since 1865
Note: You will only receive credit on your research paper after receiving approval of your topic and the annotated bibliography.
Due Date: Sunday, Nov. 17th @ 11:59 PM
Submission: Via Moodle upload
Prompt: Your assignment is to use at least five (5) sources from one (1) American magazine available through the Sandor Teszler/Wofford Library databases to write a paper about a historical topic of your choosing. This topic must fall within the time period from 1865-2005. You will be required to develop an argument/thesis in your paper and support that thesis with specific evidence from sources listed below. You are also expected to include one scholarly monograph to supplement your analysis from the magazines.
Required Elements:
-Four (4) sources from a single run of one (1) American magazine accessible through the Sandor Teszler/Wofford Library databases. These sources do not need to all be from the exact same issue of the magazine, but they do all need to be from the same title (so all of your sources must come from GQ but they don’t all have to be from the Jan. 1st, 1976 issue).
-One (1) scholarly monograph. This needs to be a scholarly history book which was printed by an academic press.
Available Databases: You are required to use US versions of these publications.
A large collection of fulltext journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from Volume 1, Issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections.
