About the Library

Sandor Teszler Library limits access to the building beginning at 5pm, Monday through Friday, and all day on weekends to current Wofford students, faculty, and staff.  Patrons will need their Wofford ID to scan for entry.  Please see Campus Safety in the Mungo Student Center if you are unable to access the building during these hours with your ID.  If you continue to have issues, contact circdesk@wofford.edu for assistance.  Your safety and access is important to us, and we will respond as quickly as possible!

For access to Archives and Special Collections, while appointments are preferred, you can visit or call 9am-12pm & 1pm-4pm, Monday through Friday. The Archives and Special Collections suite is on the top floor of the library, to the left at the top of the stairs. Email or call the Archivist (stonerp at wofford.edu, 864-597-4313) or the Special Collections Librarian (meagherla at wofford.edu, 864-597-4327) to make an appointment.  Alternatively, call (864) 597-4300 and ask for Archives and Special Collections for more information.

The library is located on Campus Drive.  Our main parking lot is accessed via Evins Street, behind the library.

Brief History of the Library

The Sandor Teszler Library was built in 1969 and dedicated in 1971 in honor of Sandor Teszler, a native of Hungary, a Holocaust survivor, and a local textile executive.  The new library replaced a much smaller library building on campus, Daniel Hall.  Use of the library grew quickly after the three-story, 43,000 square foot building opened.  The library won an award of merit from the South Carolina chapter of the American Institute of Architects.  In the decades since the library’s construction, the collections have continued to grow and diversify, and the building continues to evolve to meet student and faculty needs. A massive renovation project of three phases in 2019-2020 brought exciting new changes to the library.

To learn the history behind the benefactor and namesake of the library, read Sandor Teszler's Memoirs.