LibGuides: Medical Humanities (MHUM): Databases for Articles

For Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with coverage in virtually every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journal articles and essays in the field of religion. Covers all world religions.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics include management, accounting, advertising and marketing, construction, entertainment and media, information technology, mergers and acquisitions, occupational health and safety, public relations, small business, and a great deal of corporate information. Indexing coverage begins July 1982 and is identical to Business periodicals index; abstracts are included beginning June 1990; full text of articles from some periodicals is included beginning January 1995.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Includes content that was in the AHFS Consumer Medication Information database.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Gale Health and Wellnes This link opens in a new window
General-interest resources including medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, medical journals and pamphlets, a directory of health service organizations, current news, drug information, and links to web resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from volume 1, issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections that Wofford subscribes to. JSTOR has asbsorbed the Artstor Digital Library--its 3+ million images or art and antiquities. So now you can search JSTOR for images as well as journal articles, not to mention e-books!
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A current and comprehensive index covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. It includes a lot of full-text articles. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains articles from journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the 1800s to present.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion and Philosophy Collection offers indexing, abstracts, and full text for nearly 300 journals on such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers around one quarter of the worlds full-text scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science, including full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, books, e-books, and reference works.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical reports on diverse topics from a wide range of sources--not only from market research and trade publications, but also from scholarly journals, governmental departments, and health-related organizations (for example, the Center for Decease Control and Prevention (CDC)). The reports are downloadable as PDFs, Excel spreadsheets, and PowerPoint presentations.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to information in the sciences; especially strong in the life sciences (biology and medicine), chemistry, materials science, and psychology.

For Newspaper Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1923-Current File) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest Historical Newspapers, trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, learn about a break-through medical discovery, the inauguration of a world leader, both world wars, the Civil Rights Movement, experiment with a tasty new recipe, laugh at a comic strip and experience the birth of freedomall from one source.

All newspaper databases at Wofford

Article Search Tips

Here are a few tips that will help you ensure your searching is as effective as possible.

You will have greater success if you put phrases in quotation marks. For example, searching for the phrase "Hebrew Bible" will be more effective than not placing the phrase in quotes, which will find the instance of both of the words, but not necessarily together.
Most databases will let you choose the type of publication you need, such as magazines, newspapers, or scholarly journals.
Look for an advanced search option. It will often provide you with additional options to refine your search for most relevant results.
If you do not see a link to the full-text in the database, click the "Check for fulltext at Wofford" link.
If we do not have online access to a journal, we will get the article you need via Interlibrary Loan.