Pre-Law at Wofford

With a reputation for quality and authority that is without peer, Black's Law Dictionary is a must-have reference for attorneys, paralegals, judges, and law students. This ninth edition offers more than 45,000 expertly crafted legal definitions containing an additional 2,000 new terms, nearly 3,000 quotations from legal authorities, and selected terms with their dates of origin in American and/or British opinions. Shelved in our library's reference collection under the call-number: [Ref] KF156 .B53 2009.

Defines over two thousand legal terms, from "abatement" and "bad faith" to "yellow-dog contract" and "zoning."

Revised edition of: West's Encyclopedia of American Law. 2nd ed. 2005.

Provides information and resources to help users answer their legal questions, and outlines their rights and recourses, as well as consequences, under the law. It also provides a general background and explanation of legal issues and educates the user on federal and state/local laws, statutes, cases, regulations, and Constitutional protections.

Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions, pronunciations, and supplementary notes.

"For any reader needing a concise yet expert explanation of a subject in law the New Oxford Companion to Law is the ideal reference work. Providing greater depth than can be found in legal dictionaries but always accessible to the non-specialist, entries in the Companion cover all areas of law and legal systems and are extensively cross-referenced for ease of navigation"--Publisher's description.

An encyclopedia introducing the main lines of American law, from the institutions, people, events, and cases to the doctrines and concepts.

"Accessible and authoritative guide essential for judges, lawyers, academics, journalists, and anyone interested in the impact of the Court's decisions on American society"--Publisher's description.

For nearly thirty-five years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions. This classic volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law.

Provides information on more than 5,000 legal topics in American law. It includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms, and more. Legal issues are fully discussed, including such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.