International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
A large collection of full-text journals in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers the most important journals from volume 1, issue 1 to about five years ago. Project MUSE often covers the rest, as do other database collections that Wofford subscribes to. JSTOR has asbsorbed the Artstor Digital Library--its 3+ million images or art and antiquities. So now you can search JSTOR for images as well as journal articles, not to mention e-books!
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
REMINDER: Wofford OneSearch (our library's discovery service) can take the keywords that you enter as search terms to find specifically scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles; and it searches simultaneously all of the databases that our library offers.
This news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
"Digital Theatre+ is an unbundled digital textbook for theatre and literature studies, used daily by over 500 of the leading colleges, universities, and drama schools for theatre across the country."
Alexander Street Press' Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and more.
"All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged." // July 2022
A multidisciplinary streaming video service, licensed for classroom use, and viewable on a range of devices and platforms. Includes feature films and documentaries.
The JSTOR database has absorbed the Artstor Digital Library! JSTOR now provides access to more than 3 million images of the worlds cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Subject matter covered includes anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and much more. The collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, offering many rare and important collections available nowhere else. You must create a free account as a member of the Wofford community to save and download images.
An index of over 30,000 plays written in or translated into English that have been published individually or in anthologies from 1949 to present. These plays were originally written from antiquity to the present. Indexed plays are in a wide variety of forms, including classical drama, monologues, musicals, one-act plays, plays in verse, radio plays, television plays, and more. This database does not include the full text of plays; it provides only citations, indexing, and abstracts. Each play’s record includes a variety of useful information, including cast requirements, set requirements, music requirements, target audience age group, and subjects covered. Each record also includes a brief abstract describing the play’s plot.
Contains the full text of over 2,000 plays by over 400 North American playwrights, written since the late 1800s. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Includes detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays.
Makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in this database have never been published before and are available nowhere else. At completion, the database will contain 1,500 film scripts—an exploration of culture and cinema through the decades. This highly structured archive offers a bibliographic and biographical database of directors and writers, along with the full text of the movies themselves. From the earliest silent films through to the present, the cultural attitudes and lifestyles are reflected in the medium. Students, instructors, and researchers use the Film Scripts Online Series for studying popular culture, film, diversity and gender issues, language and linguistics, writing, American history, anthropology, sociology, psychology, and other disciplines.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
REMINDER: Wofford OneSearch and PASCAL Delivers are also fine places to look for scripts. Search for scripts there by title or author.
